We’re proud of our members and the work they’re doing to build strong, vibrant communities across Ontario. Each year, we celebrate and showcase outstanding sector leaders, volunteers, tenants and organizations through the ONPHA Awards.

Watch the videos for our 2016 winners here or learn more about them in our Awards booklet.

Awards for individuals

We offer three awards that recognize the impact that staff, volunteers, and tenants have on non-profit housing communities. 

The Sybil Frenette Outstanding Leadership Award honours an individual whose energy and vision contributes to the cause of non-profit housing in Ontario. 

Sponsored by:  Yardi logo

2016 Winner: Debbie Barton, Rental Department Manager, Centretown Citizens Ottawa Corporation

The Tenant Achievement Recognition Award honours up to four tenants or tenant groups from across the province who help make their non-profit housing community a better place to live. 

Sponsored by: Enbridge logo 

2016 Winners:

Lisa Burton, City Housing Hamilton
Rhea Ryckman, Wawil Villa Turtle Creek Manor
Robert Huff, Ecuhome
Reset Local Design Teams, Toronto Community Housing Corporation

The Lifetime of Service Recognition award recognizes the commitment of staff and volunteers who are retiring from the sector after 20 or more years. 

Sponsored by: Morneau Shepell logo   Green Shield Canada logo

2016 Winners:

Ron Alltree, Mary Lambert Swale Non-Profit Homes
Linda Bertrand, Peterborough Housing Corp.
Christine Brutin, Haldimand Norfolk Housing Corp.
Jane Edwards, Mainstay Housing
Lee Farnworth, Nepean Housing Corp.
Sandra Hutts, Peterborough Housing Corp.
Charles Laurin, Ottawa Community Housing Corp.
Kevin McCann, Housing York
Ledger McKellar, Keewatin Municipal Non-Profit Housing Corp.
Michelle Musgrave, Housing York
Brigitte Witkowski, Mainstay Housing

Awards for organizations

The ONPHA Innovation Award recognizes new and innovative partnerships and projects that organizations undertake to make positive impacts on their community, operations or environment.

Sponsored by: Enbridge logo

2016 Winner: Housing York, for the Richmond Hill Hub

The Award for Excellence recognizes a non-profit housing corporation that responds to tenant and/or community needs with imagination and insight. 

Sponsored by: Prentice Yates and Clark logo

2016 Winner: Wigwamen Incorporated



Contact us by email or by telephone at 416-927-9144 or 1-800-297-6660. 

Congratulations to our 2016 winners!

Click to watch the awards videos

To view our past winners, click here.